St. Olaf CollegeLilly Program for Lives of Worth and ServiceSt. Olaf College

Lilly Grant Program
Lilly Events and Deadlines
Opportunities for Students
Opportunities for Faculty and Staff

»International Service Learning

»Lilly Teaching Fellows

»Lilly Teaching Fellows

»Lilly Vocational Scholars

Connections with Alumni and the Community
Call for Proposals and Applications

About the Lilly Grant Program

»Identity and Mission at St. Olaf College

»What is Vocation?

»Lilly Program Committee

Lilly Grant Program for Lives of Worth and Service
Bruce Dalgaard Program Director
Modular Village
1520 St. Olaf Avenue
Northfield, MN 55057

507-786-3626 Fax


Lilly Program Committee

One of the major reasons St. Olaf was successful in its grant submission to the Lilly Endowment was the campus-wide involvement in the planning and preparation of the proposal. Jim May and Paddy Dale pulled together upwards of three dozen individuals — faculty, staff, alumni, and students — to participate in brainstorming sessions, work groups, and the writing of the proposal. Feedback from the Lilly Endowment confirmed the wisdom of Jim and Paddy in that the college was recognized for creating a campus-wide dialogue about vocation even before the grant was awarded.

The Lilly Grant Program Lives of Worth and Service is administered through the Center for Experiential Learning, but the program receives its direction from the Lilly Program Committee. This group, involving many of the same people who assisted in the preparation of the original proposal, is designed to reflect the multiple constituencies that Lives of Worth and Service is intended to serve. The entire program committee meets once each month during the academic year with program subcommittees meeting an additional one day per month. Some subcommittees meet more often when program deadlines approach or when applications for the various Lilly programs are coming due. In some instances the membership of the Lilly Program Committee is augmented; faculty or staff with particular expertise are invited to participate on an as-needed basis.

Some of the work of the committee is very specific. For example, it was the Lilly Program Committee that worked with the folks in Boe House to design the "Lives of Worth and Service" logo, program posters, and other promotional materials. Members of the committee also serve on subcommittees that review applications for all aspects of the program where funds are disbursed to support faculty and student activities.

In a general sense, the Lilly Program Committee oversees the administration of the Lilly grant but, more importantly, serves as the "sounding board" for new ideas and as a mechanism to direct feedback about programs to the grant administrators. The original Lilly grant was very specific and left little room for new initiatives. Some program activities have not evolved as anticipated and others have cost less than planned. As a result the Lilly Program Committee works with the program's director to propose to the Lilly Endowment new initiatives or ways to redirect funds from underutilized to high-demand programs.

Members of the St. Olaf community should feel free to contact any of the members of the Lilly Program Committee with ideas, questions, suggestions, or concerns.


2007-08 Committee Members

John Barbour, Professor of Religion

Bruce Benson, College Pastor

David Booth, Associate Professor of Religion

Kirsten Cahoon, CEL Senior Associate Director of Career Connections

Bruce Dalgaard, CEL Executive Director and Director of the Lilly Grant Program

Rich DuRocher, Professor of English

Rosalyn Eaton-Neeb, Associate Dean of Students

Dan Hofrenning, Associate Professor of Political Science

Carol Holly, Professor of English

Nate Jacobi, CEL Assistant Director for Civic Engagement

James May, Provost and Dean of the College, ex officio

Andy Nelson, Pastoral Intern

Arnie Ostebee, Assistant Provost, ex officio

Paula Schanilec , CEL Program Assistant

Patricia Smith, CEL Director of Career Connections & CEL Associate Director

Janet Kringen Thompson, Associate Vice President for Advancement and College Relations